A rainbow cake

For my second post I would like to show you my version of a rainbow cake. I’ve seen a lot of rainbow cake recipes lately, most of them using food colouring to get the colours. I wanted to see if I could make a rainbow cake with as much natural colouring as possible and with fruity flavours.

This is result:

DSC00707

For this cake I made 5 different coloured smaller cakes, using the following flavours and methods of coloring:

  • Red – Strawberry
  • Orange – Orange (how surprising…)
  • Yellow – Lemon
  • Green – Kiwi
  • Blue – Blueberry

Unfortunately the kiwi and blueberries were not enough to give the cakes its colour, so I had to use a little food colouring for those cakes. I made one large batch of normal yellow cake batter and divided it in 5 equal portions. I added strawberries, kiwi and blueberries, all puréed, to 3 of the portions. For the orange and lemon flavoured cakes I used the skin and juice of the oranges and lemons.

Straight out of the oven I levelled the cakes, stacked them and cut them to equal sizes. I then froze them for a while, while I made a batch of buttercream and sorted out a lot of Smarties. This is the undecorated cake:

IMAG0542

I covered the chilled cake with buttercream and while the buttercream was still soft, pressed Smarties into the side in a rainbow pattern.

A close-up of the pattern:

DSC00706

I was told the flavour was excellent, unfortunately I did not get to taste it myself. All the more reason to make it again one day!

Leave a Reply

